A Better Perspective

A Better Perspective

We see things not as they are, but as where we are.

When I quit my job January of this year, I felt I was being done an injustice. And many sympathized with how I felt. According to our labor laws when an employee voluntarily resigns from his/her job, the employer is not obliged to give him/her a separation pay other than when it is already the custom of the company.

In my case, those who resigned before me in the same company were given a separation pay. Thus, I presumed I would also receive the same. Unfortunately, I received none other than what was solely required by law.

Most of my co-employees encouraged me to bring the matter to the labor authority. They believed which I also believed that my previous employer’s reason was personal. I ruminate this thought for quite a while, since I know if I would do so it would require much effort, time and ultimately, emotions.

However, after a month of hibernation and soul searching I was lucky enough to see things in a different perspective. You know, the high that you get when at times you are able to meditate while doing the mundane. And when you look at things a little farther you catch a glimpse of the bigger picture. The catch was I realized there was never an injustice done unto me. It is just that other people failed to grab the opportunity of sharing themselves with others and seeing the values of the people around them. They believed that people would be robbed of their personhood when they are not given what is due to them. Because I now know better, I simply see this kind of judgment by others as an inconsistency on their part. It is that part of themselves that they have to work with. And no one is able to help them in that process other than themselves.

My spirit is now at peace. I move on with a lighter heart and a warm smile. It is my firm belief that what people denied me God would provide.

Honestly, we could not force people to do what they hate to do. If we could not change others, we could change ourselves instead. Thankfully, I have changed a little bit since then. And this journey just starts to get exciting!

purposivewriter - nezel yurong

Daily Prompt

 

7 thoughts on “A Better Perspective

  1. It sounds like you are truly on your way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very well written!!!

    Check out my blog also to experience my magic of letters.

    Hope you will like it:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

