Gretchen Rubin to the Rescue of My Urgh Day

grumpy

As I opened my window to look at the rays of sunrise up in the sky, I was sad to see nothing. The weather was windy. I should have been happy because it’s my favorite weather. But I did not feel any excitement. I took a short brisk walk to awaken my spirits. Nothing happened. My mood danced with the rhythm of the weather more when it rained a few minutes after. I gave up. One of those urgh days. Everybody has it at some point.

Some days I pretend I am alright and successfully managed to pull through. Today I doubt it if I could manage the day with this mood. But I am left with no choice than to live the life I am given today. Though it would take that much effort to even smile, smile must I.

I do not even know if you could find some sense in this post. You know, those times when you do not want to do a thing because you do not feel like it, or just lack the inspiration to do it. Yet, you have to do it because you just have to do it.

Oops, wait! Before you quit reading, Gretchen Rubin seemed able to save my day. I just landed on her page. And the following are what she has to say about urgh days:

13 Tips for Dealing with a Really Lousy Day (Really Urgh Day)

1. Resist the urge to “treat” yourself. Often, the things we choose as “treats” aren’t good for us. The pleasure lasts a minute, but then feelings of guilt, loss of control, and other negative consequences just deepen the lousiness of the day. So when you find yourself thinking, “I’ll feel better after I have a few beers…a pint of ice cream…a cigarette…a new pair of jeans,” ask yourself – will it REALLY make you feel better? It might make you feel worse.

Me: I think I just have to feel this feeling instead of looking for “pain relievers”.

2. Do something nice for someone else. “Do good, feel good” – this really works. Be selfless, if only for selfish reasons. A friend going through a horrible period told me that she was practically addicted to doing good deeds; that was the only thing that made her feel better.

Me: I just listened to a friend’s woes. I think she just feels a little better.

3. Distract yourself. When my older daughter was born, she had to be in Neonatal Intensive Care for a week. I spent every hour at the hospital, until my husband dragged me away to go to an afternoon movie. I didn’t want to go, but afterward, I realized that I was much better able to cope with the situation after having had a bit of relief. Watching a funny movie or TV show is a great way to take a break, or I often re-read beloved classics of children’s literature.

Me: Gonna be scrolling my ibook for good reads.

4. Seek inner peace through outer order. Soothe yourself by tackling a messy closet, an untidy desk, or crowded countertops. The sense of tangible progress, control, and orderliness can be a comfort. This always works for me – and fortunately, my family is messy enough that I always have plenty of therapeutic clutter at hand.

Me: Good point here. I’ve got a messy desk.

5. Tell yourself, “Well, at least I…” Get some things accomplished. Yes, you had a horrible day, but at least you went to the gym, or played with your kids, or walked the dog, or read your children a story, or recycled.

Me: At least I’ve done my ten-minute brisk walk.

6. Exercise is an extremely effective mood booster – but be careful of exercise that allows you to ruminate. For example, if I go for a walk when I’m upset about something, I often end up feeling worse, because the walk provides me with uninterrupted time in which to dwell obsessively on my troubles.

Me: Done yoga and few stretches.

7. Stay in contact. When you’re having a lousy day, it’s tempting to retreat into isolation. Studies show, though, that contact with other people boosts mood. So try to see or talk to people, especially people you’re close to.

Me: I am at work. And I feel a little better just by chitchatting with co-employees.

8. It’s a cliché, but things really will look brighter in the morning. Go to bed early and start the next day anew. Also, sleep deprivation puts a drag on mood in the best of circumstances, so a little extra sleep will do you good.

Me: I guess, for me sleeping late is the culprit. Hadn’t gone early to bed for maybe three nights in a row.

9. Remind yourself of your other identities. If you feel like a loser at work, send out a blast email to engage with college friends. If you think members of the PTA are mad at you, don’t miss the spinning class where everyone knows and likes you.

Me: I need some more letting go. I just asked a friend to like my FB page which he did not do ’til now. He couldn’t understand what I am up to. A difference in perspectives.

10. Keep perspective. Ask yourself: “Will this matter in a month? In a year?” I recently came across a note I’d written to myself years ago, that said “TAXES!!!!!!!!!!!!!” I dimly remember the panic I felt about dealing with taxes that year; but it’s all lost and forgotten now.

Me: Oh, it wouldn’t surely. My body just give me this urgh day as a pause that I may take a rest from being so serious with my quests.

11. Write it down. When something horrible is consuming my mind, I find that if I write up a paragraph or two about the situation, I get immense relief.

Me: Just what I am up to. Not just writing but sharing it too.

12. Be grateful. Remind yourself that a lousy day isn’t a catastrophic day. Be grateful that you’re still on the “lousy” spectrum. Probably, things could be worse.

Me: I am so thankful I have a break from being so…. sensible? At least today I have an excuse to express that quirky side of me.

13. Use the emergency mood tool-kit. For an emergency happiness intervention, try these tips for getting a boost in the next HOUR.

***

Woow! Just felt better. Thanks Gretchen.

Have you ever had these kind of days? Don’t be afraid, it’s workable. Just look for your sense of humor, even if others may or may not understand.

Have a purposeful day!

~Nezel

In response to WP Daily Prompt: pretend.

 

5 thoughts on “Gretchen Rubin to the Rescue of My Urgh Day

  1. Lovely reminder 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. 13 great tips indeed!. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Glad you wrote about Gretchens tips because I’d never heard of them. All great tips! Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

