How Does A Woman of Faith Stay Chic?

how does a woman of faith stay chic?

So I love to watch skinny models walking down the runway. In Pinterest I love to scroll the newest fashion ideas. All because I am a woman of this modern generation where acceptance and fitting in is a must. Actually, I am slowly winning the race of accepting myself as I am than relying on other’s validity of me. But fashion still fascinates me because of my humanness. Any woman knows how flattering it is to be admired by how does she looks.

Okay, let me make it clear. I profess myself as a woman of faith. As a person who believes that my body is a temple of God, how should I dress this body in accordance with my faith and still “fit in” with the environment that I am presently in? Such is a great challenge I need to overcome. The following are the considerations I make when choosing my outfit:

  1. Dress appropriately. This means I need to consider the occasion. The beach is a different place than the house of worship. I need to consider when to show some skin and when not to. The office is still a different place and requires much modesty. I do wear shorts at home and occasionally in the streets. But I do not wear short shorts or the very fitting ones. I wear spaghetti straps in summer. I do not wear any apparel that reveals any cleavage. I hate it when people look down below my neck instead of looking at my eyes. I wear fitting clothes under a cardigan. I wear skinny jeans paired with long shirts or blouses. When the cloth of my dress is see-through, I wear something under that hides my skin.
  2. I do not need the worship of people. Yes, it is so flattering when people call you sexy. But then I do not need people to go crazy about how great my body is. Or how desirable I am. I do not need to show off every part of my body just to win millions of followers. What’s in it for me? It would not bring me to heaven, honestly speaking.
  3. I believe my body is a temple of God. As a temple, should I use my body to cast others as victims of voluptuousness or become green with envy?
  4. I believe, if there is one thing that could draw others to me, it would be a genuine smile. This is the most beautiful part of the body any woman could cast to anybody that would melt their hearts at times.
  5. Any woman could be elegant and stylish in any appropriate outfit even without showing much skin or voluptuous curves. A woman who knows how to carry herself well always stands out in the crowd. It is because grace and modesty are never and will never get obsolete. It is that substance within that makes a woman. Mother Teresa of Calcutta, the newly proclaimed saint, used love to draw people to her. Her unconditional love won her millions of followers.

A godly woman spreads a gospel every time she steps out and mingle with people. Thus, she must not block the good news by her appearance. What she is inside can be recognized more than what she is outside. I even met a very simple woman who captured my attention in a chance encounter. She was an example of someone whose light within emanated without her awareness of it. This, I believe, every woman should strive for.

The Bible also gives us guides on how a godly woman must act and look like.

1 Timothy 2:9

Likewise, I want the women to adorn themselves with respectable apparel, with modesty, and with self-control, not with braided hair or gold or pearls or expensive clothes, but with good deeds, as is proper for women who profess to worship God.…1 Timothy 2:9

Proverbs 7:10
And behold, a woman comes to meet him, Dressed as a harlot and cunning of heart.

Proverbs 31:25
Strength and dignity are her clothing, And she smiles at the future.

1 Timothy 2:10
but with good deeds, as is proper for women who profess to worship God.

1 Peter 3:3
Your beauty should not come from outward adornment such as braided hair or gold jewelry or fine clothes

Our body is a temple of God. May we treat it as it truly is.

Have a purposeful day!

~Nezel

In response to WP Daily Prompt: stylish and Discover Challenge: Outer Layers

 

3 thoughts on “How Does A Woman of Faith Stay Chic?

  1. Thank you. Modesty is a beautiful thing. I wish more women would practice it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love doing this

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

