In Darkness and In Silence

darkness and silence

“Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence.”

Remember those lines? Yes, they were the first lines of the song, The Sound of Silence. This song is one of my favorites, since my teen years. It’s due to those two words: darkness and silence.

I do not know why, but let me share something with you, that which is not common about me – I love darkness and silence. It is not that I want to live a life in darkness; I love to be in the dark because in there I feel so much the light within. In the dark, there is no distraction whatsoever. I could not see anything. Thus, all my senses are directed to my awareness within. There is no feelings of fear, which we usually associate with darkness. In the dark, I feel so much God’s presence. I could not explain why. I was just born with this comfort of being in the dark. I feel so much comfort, so much assurance, so much love of God. Of course, it’s a different story when I am out in a dark street. I must be aware of my physical safety. But when I am in a dark and secure place like my home or in my room when the lights are off, oh, it is heaven for me. Much heaven it is when I am at the beach on a dark night, sitting on the sand, observing the tranquil sea or rippling waves, looking far at the stars and into the nothingness beyond.

Silence also is my paradise. I love it most when I am alone and have myself and thoughts all by myself. No music even. Silence is my friend. Silence knows all my woes. Silence knows all my doubts, my confusions, my worries, my enigmatic feelings, my spiritual flight. Silence loves to listen to the shrill cry of my soul. Silence is my companion when all else depart from me. Silence absorbs my sobs and just let me be. I love silence because it allows me to be just me without judgment, without criticism.

***

However, it does not mean always that when we are surrounded by silence, everything is quiet. No. We may be alone, yet everybody is with us when we allow all their voices to speak in our minds. There would be chaos and restlessness within. We need to clear our minds from voices that are not making us grow or worthy. The faithful says, we need to silence our minds that we may hear God’s voice clearly. When God’s voice speaks we hear how lovable we are no matter what we have done. For what makes us worthy is not our deeds but the truth that God has been merciful to us despite our sinfulness. Our only duty to discover how much God loves us, is to let go of everything and feel that love within. And we need silence in order to fully realize this.

***

Don’t be afraid of the notion of darkness and silence. Let your soul connect to that unknown path. At first, you may not get it right. But when you do it with determination, gradually you’ll be one with the One who makes darkness disappear and whose voice speaks clearly in silence.

Have a purposeful day!

~Nezel

In response to WP Daily Prompt: silence.

5 thoughts on “In Darkness and In Silence

  1. Soul and silence.. We both think similar. I wrote almost the same in my post too…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

