Living Life One Day At A Time (Caroline’s 30 Days Sunrise Photo And Health Challenge: Day 28)

live life one day at a time-sunrise photo

Been up at 5:15. My youngest son woke me up and urged me that we may take our morning walk. My mother went with us too. This morning we tried another route. The sunrise was not that visible, but the reflection of it on the clouds was. I loved the photo above. It contained most of the elements I love seeing in the sky: blue sky, white clouds with yellow and orange hues, birds in flight and towering trees.

live life one day at a time

Here the light penetrated at the top of the trees and made a bright background.

live life one day at a time

Here, the clouds seemed to explode the moment it was hit by the sunrise’s light. The sunrise was then a bit covered by clouds. For this morning we completed a thirty minute walk.

Today I am going to share with you how this challenge unexpectedly made me to live life one day at a time.

How to live life one day at a time? I could have answered this question theoretically, intellectually, or better yet, use the journey of my heroes to answer this question. Just recently, I found the answer to my own question matter-of-factly.

I have been an obedient follower of anybody who already found the “right way.” In short, I have designed myself to become like anybody else – a go getter. I already have a list of my dreams, list of goals, plans and strategies to achieving those goals and the short-term, day to day goals, as well as the actions needed to implement those goals on a daily basis. This is perfectly how I see my day to day activities. To break the monotony once in a while I joined certain challenges.

Participating Caroline’s sunrise photo and health challenge was only a part of my daily grind. Until slowly, in my day to day journey, I found out I have unraveled a gold mine very essential to my journey. I began to see each day with differently new eyes. I used to believe all days are the same; it is only our attitude and activities that makes any day special. I was completely and absolutely wrong. As I have witnessed over twenty sunrises, I found out every sunrise is different. Every sunrise brings an unexpected surprise. Everyday is literally different from each other.

Antoine de St. Exupery in his book “The Little Prince” says: What is essential is invisible to the eye. Perhaps, I have not seen the difference or the presence of each day because I only see a day as part of a week, a month, or a year. I only do a certain thing a day in order to become what I could be in the future. In short, I only see what the future looks like. My focus is very much directed in the future. Perhaps, this is the reason why some people have the habit of buying lands, building huge buildings, and taking vacations without noticing the needs of the people who put them at the pedestal they are standing on. Because they are so much focused in the future; on what they could become. For if only one could see the beauty of each day, greediness would be ashamed to come near to that person.

The journey to thirty sunrises lead me back to who I am. Was it due to the sunrise’s light? or the stunning view of every sunrise? or the quietude of the morning? or the freshness of nature? or the amazing morning sky? or the cloud’s changing hues? or the silence in my heart when I am out there bathing the sunrise? or the walk with my kids? or the butterflies, the bees, the spiderwebs I see along the way? or the crowing of the cocks and the chirping of the birds? or the meditation with nature? or just because I woke up earlier? or because I am so much grateful to God for all these blessings? I guess, it is all of the above. I do not know how. I just know I slowly hear the still voice within me, which I missed for so long. It again speaks. And I hear it again.

As I look back on those over twenty sunrises I could not remember if there was any day that was just like the other. Every day was different. And there was no boring one ever. When I would complete this challenge after two more days, I know my journey would not stop there. I wonder who would I be after sixty or one hundred sunrises?

Ah, this is how I discover living life one day at a time. I just do not know if this works for you my friend. But you can take your chances. Anyway, our journey is ours to take. I am so glad I found mine.

May you have found your way to living life one day at a time.

~Nezel

(You may visit Caroline’s 30 days sunrise photo and health challenge here.)

(WP Daily Prompt: obvious)

6 thoughts on “Living Life One Day At A Time (Caroline’s 30 Days Sunrise Photo And Health Challenge: Day 28)

  1. Somehow this is the last article from your participating in Caroline’s sunrise photo that I read and comment on. Now I have finished reading all 30 of them. I have to say that I am very impressed. I have enjoy reading every one and each of your articles for the challenge and I have your blog and you in my heart now. Its amazing to watch your journey and I will just keep thanking you for participating in the challenge and for your support. Thank you 🙂 Keep going in your good new habits, I will keep an eye on your new posts to see your new photos of sunrise. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for having read it all. I pray that God would answer me and tell me to go on with my book idea about my participation with the challenge. Then it would be a long journey for us. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, you wanna write a book about it? About the experience? I wish that we lived near each other and do some project together which will result in a book. These days its easy to print a book or sell it online. I will be thinking about you. Go for it! And let me know if you need any assistance. I hope the challenge will be a big event in both our lives. I have been thinking about publishing my best sunrise photos in a book (just a photo book) and maybe later cooperate with artists and photographers to print something together. When my 30 days will be done I will continue the challenge on weekly basics with some updates.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That would be great too! You make a book of your photos because they are really worth to print. Mine is all about the beautiful experiences I had with the challenge, how it changed my frame of mind. Yes, it would be great if we live near each other to easily exchange ideas and work together. But we still could do it despite the distance. I share the idea with you to challenge myself to actually do it. I love your idea of taking sunrise photos on a weekly basis after the challenge. That would certainly keep me going.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, that sounds good. I cant wait to read your book 🙂 I have just created new Facebook group for the challenge. It will be more easy to post photos and articles, write questions , discuss topics and support each other even for people who dont have blog. Feel free to join the group and share your blog posts about the challenge there.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, that’s nice. Sure, I would love to join. In that way we are able to share our photos and experiences with others much easier.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

