7 Simple Things To Do To Become An Early Riser (Caroline’s 30 Days Sunrise Photo And Health Challenge: Day 27)

At five-thirty this morning this was how the sky looked like. Old folks say that if the color of the sky in early morn is red hot, it is going to be a hot day. With much of their experience, it may be true. As for me, I could not say anything about it  because for many a year I have been in an air-conditioned office most of the day. Whichever, I am so much grateful for having gone outside in time to witness this magical hues, for the clouds changed color in just a matter of minutes.

With this photo the golden clouds seemed to be a flying eagle turned upside down from afar. I really was so glad to be under such a magnificent sky at the moment. Marvelous!

To think I am on my twenty-seventh day of the challenge, and I seem not to have had enough of everything that an early morning walk has to offer. And honestly, there are still some mornings when I could not get up to my desired time, especially on chilly ones.

So, what are the things to do in order to get up early? Here are what I get from others’ and my own experience as well:

  1. You don’t have to make drastic changes. Start slowly, by waking just 15-30 minutes earlier than usual. Get used to this for a few days. Then cut back another 15 minutes. Do this gradually until you get to your goal time.
  2. Allow yourself to sleep earlier. I used to write and read late in the evening because it is the time when complete silence settles in the house, when everybody is asleep. But I slowly cut the habit off. I began to sleep thirty to one hour earlier than my usual time just to wake up early. There are just some privileges you have to give up in order to receive one much better privilege. I then do my reading early in the morning. And it worked out just fine.
  3. Put your alarm clock far from your bed. When you get up and hit your alarm clock off, you will probably wake up. As for me, I never use an alarm clock. I don’t want to wake up everybody else so I don’t use that one. I am just used to going to the bathroom at four o’clock or a little later; then there are the cock’s crowing. I just have to look at the time and decide whether to return to bed or not.
  4. Do not rationalize. But then it is better not to listen to your self urging you to return to bed. When you get up that is it.
  5. Have a good reason why you get up in the first place. Focusing on your “why” makes it easier for you to move on and get the thing done. For me, I keep telling myself: I just have to do this.
  6. Make waking up early a reward. Seeing the sunrise down the horizon and being soaked in nature is more than a reward for me. For you, it might be treating yourself with a cup of coffee, or opening a good book.
  7. You have the time to take advantage of all the extra time. You have the chance to plan up your day, check out your goals and do the things that that are on your priority list. Do not make it a time for checking blogs or reading emails. It is the best time for meditation too. For me, I go out in time for the sunrise and my 10 to 30 minutes brisk walking and some photography sessions along the way. I then prepare the kids for school, then do my yoga.

(You may visit Caroline’s 30 days sunrise photo and health challenge here.)

6 thoughts on “7 Simple Things To Do To Become An Early Riser (Caroline’s 30 Days Sunrise Photo And Health Challenge: Day 27)

  1. Good read. Thanks for sharing😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is sooo good. I love the tips. You had an amazing morning, the photos are beautiful! I am so happy you keep going and continue the sunrise and health challenge. Its very motivating. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

