Phase Of The Moon

purposive writer - first quarter moon

If I were the moon, what phase I am?

First quarter.

The new moon passed me by a year ago. That time when you could see nothing but darkness. That time when you don’t know where to go, what to do. That time when you are left so helpless, so defeated, so lifeless; you hold only to your breath. That is only what you have. I had been there.

From there I lay helpless and waited; waited for a flicker of light to brighten my horizon and tell me that everything is going to be alright. Thankfully, that light flickered. A ray of hope befell my eyes. It gave me hope to get up, to move on and to believe that after everything I had been through I was still alive. I still had the breath. I still had the time and the capacity to get up and start all over again.

So I did just that. I got up. I gathered all my wits. With knees shaking and nerves trembling, I stood again. I tried to take a step. I did! It would be a few more steps and I would no longer be at the place where I had fallen. Thanks be to God.

It’s the first quarter of the moon. Storms may pass. Typhoons may break, but the moon continues to be. Yes, I am the moon. I am still in the first quarter. Sooner or later I ‘d be full. They would see me then. They would recognize me then. And I would be different by then; no dark sides, only beauty that illuminates a traveler’s way and a light that mesmerizes a soul. Sooner. I’d be.

Have a purposeful day!

~Nezel

(WP Daily Prompt: phase)

Leave a Reply

